top of page
  • simontm71

Beating blood cancer





So why am I doing this ride? Why does a bear on a tricycle decide to put himself through the pain of a sportive once again?


As I said my father-in-law Jim Watt had a very aggressive form of blood cancer that took him from us. But he wasn't, and isn't, the only one who has suffered or died from blood cancers.


  • There are around 240,000 people living with blood cancer in the UK.

  • There are over 100 different types of blood cancer.

  • Blood cancer is the most common type of cancer among children, teenagers and young people in the UK.

So what does the money do?

  • £50 could provide an information pack for the family of every child diagnosed with blood cancer this week.

  • £100 could help researchers analyse over 120 blood cell samples in special test tubes - potentially leading to new discoveries in the treatment of blood cancers.

  • £200 will allow researchers to characterise the gene changes that are driving blood cancer, revealing potential new targets for blood cancer drugs.

  • £500 could provide a nurse for Bloodwise's groundbreaking three-day trials to provide patients help, support or simply a hand to hold.

So what am I doing?


I am riding Prudential Ride London for Bloodwise, the blood cancer research charity.


The ride goes from the Olympic Park, through London, out into the Surrey Hills and back in again:

  • 100 miles

  • 5,373ft

  • Around 5,000 cals


It has been two years since I last tried to ride over 50 miles. I still don't know if I can get round without cramp. I still don't know whether I am capable of averaging above 16mph. I don't know if I'll break down in despair when I literally pass the end of my road. I will only know when/if I cross the line on the Mall on that Sunday.


I am not only riding for Jim, I am riding for all those families that have had to deal with these horrible cancers. Thank you to all those who have donated so far.


If you can, please help and donate via the Just Giving Button.



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page