top of page
  • simontm71

Just a drop



I headed out In a good mood. First time back on the carbon, tuned and oiled, the previous day had been one of sunshine and warmth with no wind.

The sun promised much and, although there were forecasts of showers, I figured I had enough of a window to get some mileage in.


Heading into Kingston, I realised that damned wind was lingering but at least in my favour as I was pushed down the Portsmouth Road at a lick and a half.


Over and through Bushey Park, dodging families, runners and dogs, the South-West wind certainly had a bite to it that defied the Met Office’s description.


Through Sunbury with only one moronic overtaker, I headed over to Chertsey then up a hill called Ruxbury Road then down over the M25 onto the race track that is Lyne Crossing Road, a relatively wide and straights road that encourages the morons to put their foot down but in the main, most at least gave me a wide berth.


Up into Longcross, passed the studio and housing developments, I was soon on Staple Hill overlooking Chobham common and watching the clouds ominously drifting over. Black and threatening interspersed with white fluffy ones. The sun looking glorious in the gaps.


Even better for me, it appeared that the bulk of the rain seemed to be exactly where I was heading.


After Chobham, I had a series of superb passes which confused me until the police car overtook. Another car cut me up on a roundabout with a delightful woman screeching out of the window “Why don’t you get out of the way.”


I gave the international symbol towards that chav who was obviously worried that all the toilet rolls would have sold out before they had a chance to deprive others themselves. I also marvelled at how it seems that Audi drivers always seem to be driven by morons who have no concept about using the road properly so self-obsessed that they are. Indeed, I am usually shocked when they do give way, proper passes etc.


Annnyyywwaayyyy….



What I feared, happened. Just a few drops at first…Ok this is the shower they were forecasting. Then the wind rose and the temperature dropped and bang the heavens opened.


Under an underpass, I took advantage of the shelter to grab the rain coat. Even though I was wearing a winter top which had a degree of water resistance, I had a feeling that this was not going to be a brief shower and I was right.


The heavens opened and very quickly dolphins and Whales were overtaking me, sneering at my lack of swimming finesse.


Every puddle became a pothole danger and what in dry conditions would have been simple rides, were challenges to stay upright and breathing.


I headed over to West Clandon where over privileged idiots in their leased all wheel drive refused to change driving behaviour one iota.


Rivers flowed down hills I was going up and the few cyclists not to have run and taken shelter exchange ‘wtf are we doing this’ looks with me.


At the Muddy Duck, I headed over toward Cobham, not surprised to see Plough Lane shut for flooding, and after a detour headed onto Sandy Lane then down towards Esher where I marvelled at one particular driver who edge out to overtake me despite there being a red light and I was signalling to go into the right hand lane anyway so he didn’t need to do so. And like most drivers that do dickish things like that, he diligently stared straight ahead because as any one year old will tell you, if I can’t see it, it doesn’t exist,


Through Milbourne and into Hinchley Wood, thoroughly soaked to the point that goldfish were thinking my shoes were too soggy, I headed into Long Ditton…where the rain stopped.


Literally two minuted from my home the rain stopped, Two bleeding minutes the only respite.


Still, if Ride London goes ahead, if the weather is like 2018 it will be good training.





Training ride 3:

Miles: 49.4

Average speed: 15.4mph

Elevation: 1,606ft


Distance so far: 116.1miles

Time on bike: 7 hours 31 minutes












35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


bottom of page