top of page
  • simontm71

Boy, you're gonna carry that weight

Updated: Mar 30, 2019

So I have the bike, I have some gear – let’s get going…


But what do I take with me? To the interweb we go!!


So, as far as I could work out I needed some water and some substance like jelly beans to keep me going.


Stopping off at the local shop, I picked up a bottle of water that was big enough for the bottle carrier that came with the bike, and some jelly beans.


Then I packed my rucksack with the waterproof, puncture repair kit, two locks, two inner tubes, a pump, my phone, my wallet, the kitchen sink…


As I said, I had never done this. The fact that I was not going to be stopping (in theory) and it was a round trip did not stop me from lunking around a D-lock and cable lock, no siree.


So, rucksack bungeed onto the rack and water forced into holder I was set to go.


After half a mile or so, I was beginning to realise something – I was cycling six miles. The last time I cycled it was five miles and it killed me. Would I have enough fluid and fuel? Could I do this? Would I be found collapsed in a sweaty pile by the roadside, melting away in a puddle of unfitness?


I pushed on…


About another half mile after that I realized something else – why the hell have I brought all this stuff with me? Why take a puncture repair kit for six miles? Just either pump the wheel and limp home or if I couldn’t, put a new tube in and repair at home. Why take both?


And the locks. What on earth was I doing lugging these locks around when I wasn’t planning to stop anywhere?


I had a revelation...no matter how useful that kit maybe, just maybe, all that extra weight…only…slows…you…down.


Especially the kitchen sink!




9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page