top of page
  • simontm71

Arise on Windsor





The first time I span out to Windsor was back in 2015. I had done a couple of fairly long rides but hadn’t broken the 40 miles.


The thing about cycling when you don’t have a super duper cycling computer is that you have to vaguely work out where you are going in your head and then hope you remember it. After all, if you have built up the momentum then you really don’t want to have to scratch it to stop and look at your phone.


I knew Windsor very well and vaguely knew a route via Staines which I took. Those that know will nod knowingly as I initially ran the chicken run that is Fordbridge Road, impatient drivers in all vehicles bombing pass you at the merest hint of a gap. And then you have the Renfree Road a fast wide road that tapers into a potholed-ridden monstrosity that makes you weave in and out of the curb while trying to avoid the tipper trucks bombing their way westwards.


Ah yes, west! Inevitably you will hit a headwind when heading to Windsor even if the weather forecast was for a still day.


Looking at the riding record, I went through Staines over Wraysbury and into Datchet then Eton. I usually now head a bit north which I find quieter despite taking me pass Young Offenders and Heathrow and then I hit the Datchet Road.


Past where Waterloo was won apparently and a gentle weave through the

tourists to the foot of Windsor Castle.



Back out on Ted 7th’s Avenue and you can either head into the hills or straight on to where the Rule of Law began according to the signs – Runnymede.


That first ride I headed to Runnymede and straight into a headwind. I swear the area is designed that as you head into the area with a tail wind it somehow bounces off the hills and becomes a headwind. I cannot remember a single ride where I didn’t hit a headwind there.


I tried a different route for this training ride- up Crimp Hill or should that be Cramp Hill. Not that it’s particularly hard, it’s just that after 20 or so miles, the sudden ramps including a 13% at one point - put it this way Leith Hill only tops out at 12.4% - takes you by surprise.


Up the top and head to Virginia Water, bombing down roads that have seen better days, thankful for some local weight weeny who had overtaken me earlier so I could follow his route round the entries to hell such were the depths of some of them.


Down into Chertsey then up Woburn Hill and bumpety bump along the river to Walton then home.


Still without my road bike, the trusted commuter did me proud while an extensive warm down didn’t quite ease the burning in my legs from all the ups and downs.


Still, was a right royal ride.


Training Ride: 9

Distance: 42.7 miles

Average Speed: 15.1mph

Elevation: 701ft


Distance so far: 286.9 miles

















24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page